Last year, the members of UBC worked together to name the foundational values of our congregation— Inclusive, Inquisitive, Community-Minded, and Loving. While we named these values in 2016, they are a long part of our congregation’s heritage.

In 1976, just a few years after UBC defined its conviction that the church must be open to people of all races, the congregation began a discussion about women’s leadership in the church. Later that year, Virginia Lou Mullins was elected as a deacon and was subsequently ordained in January, 1977. In her ordination, UBC joined with the earliest communities of Jesus followers in affirming that Holy Spirit calls both women and men to follow Jesus and equips us all for service in the Kingdom of God.

Over the last forty years, UBC has been blessed by the leadership of many women. Below is a list of all the women UBC has ordained over the last forty years.

Ordained Deacon

Jane Allison
Kay Behm
Connie Benedict
Mo Conville
Jennifer Courtney
Rosanne Crockett
Darleen Dale
Clara Dennis
Jan Davis
Iris Easterling
Evelyn Gandy
Linda Ginn
Gloria Green
Ellen Hall
Sharon Harris
Amy Hinton
Julia Kelley
Sherry Laughlin

Jeannine Laughlin-Porter
Donna Matthews
Lida McDowell
Betty Mitchell
Virginia Lou Mullens
Peggy Myatt
Myra Myrick
Thelma Myrick
Jennie Noonkester
Lucy Parkman
Marion Poirier
Fern Pearson
Pat Robertson
Lynda Thoms
Karen Walker
Beverly Williams
Rosemary Woullard

Ordained Chaplain

Linda Snell McComb

Ordained Minister

Ashley Gill Harrington

Licensed Minister

Charlotte Ellzey